Read a good book lately? Share it!

The goodreads.com service was new to me, though it’s been around for years and has over 11 million members.  Since I’m not an avid reader, it was just not on my radar. I prefer the online world and magazines like Wired and Fast Company.

The book reading habit sort of snuck up me when I read a couple of short stories on a Palm Pilot years ago, primarily as a way to fall asleep.  Once I got accustomed to the small format, I was hooked.  I do have to admit, though, that bedtime is still  my primary reading time.  The reading device has changed, from the Palm to iPod, iPhone, iPad and now the Nexus 7.

I’ve always purchased ebooks from Amazon.com so that my entire online library is available on any of my online devices.

While browsing widgets for my blog, I ran into the Goodreads widget, was intrigued and signed up for the free service. It’s kind of a Netflix for books; the more you review, the better the recommendations.  You’ll see how other readers rated each book (1 to 5 stars) and find quite a few detailed reviews. You may find, as I have, there are good recommendations within those reviews. Plus, you can add your friends, and browse their book lists and reviews.

Their website is easy to use, and you’ll find apps available for both iOS devices and Android.

Give it a try, and add me to your friends list!

About richcasey

Retired Corporate Communications manager. Still obsessed with social media, computers and ham radio (callsign N5CSU).
This entry was posted in Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

